Methodology: Developing Communication Strategies and Programs: A Systematic Approach

I have been using the methodology which was published by UNICEF under the title: “Developing Communication Strategies and Programs: A Systematic Approach”. This publication was made in English, French and Arabic by the Unicef Middle East and North Africa (MENA) regional office. In 2010, I revised this publication and published a second edition under the title “Development Communication.” Both versions of this step-wise process will be displayed below.

Developing Communication Strategies and Programs: A Systematic Approach

In December 1985, I was presenting a paper called “How the Egypt ORT Communication Campaign Succeeded” at the International Conference on Oral Rehydration Therapy (ICORT II), which was held in Washington D.C. Attending the conference was Victor Soler Sala, who was the director of the Unicef Middle East and North Africa (MENA) regional office. Victor spoke with me after my presentation about his wish to spread the methodology which I used in Egypt ORT campaign to the rest of the Middle East and North Africa. We agreed that I would visit the organization’s regional headquarters in Amman to discuss the matter.

After I developed the first draft of this methodology, I tested it during a regional workshop for Unicef program and communication officers from all the countries in the region. The revised version was then published by MENA in English, Arabic, and French. The methodology was adopted by Unicef ever since, and of course I have been using it in all of my work, both in Egypt and other countries.

The 1st edition (1986) – English

Leave a comment